We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon

Terrell Tebbetts

  Dr. Terrell L. Tebbetts
  Martha Heasley Cox Chair in American Literature

  Contact information
  Office 201 in the Alphin Humanities Building 
  (870) 307-7342 | terrell.tebbetts@lyon.edu


Terrell L. Tebbetts holds the Martha Heasley Cox Chair in American Literature at Lyon College. Over Dr. Tebbetts’ years at Lyon, his faculty colleagues have awarded him the Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence, and his students have named him Professor of the Year four times. In 1992 the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation chose Dr. Tebbetts as the Professor of the Year for the state of Arkansas.

Dr. Tebbetts is an active scholar, having published over four dozen articles, primarily on American literature, in journals including Philological Review, South Central Review, New Orleans Review, Christianity & Literature, College Literature, Southern Literary Journal, The F. Scott Fitzgerald Review, Mississippi Quarterly, The Steinbeck Review, and The Faulkner Journal. His articles also appear in books published by the University Press of Mississippi, Auburn University Press, Greenwood, and the Modern Language Association. In addition his poetry has appeared in journals such as Whole Notes, Voices International, Poet, The Lyric, Elder Mountain, and Sparrow.

In the community, he has chaired the Arkansas Governor’s Developmental Disabilities Council, the Independence County Family Violence Prevention organization, the Board of Directors of Wood-Lawn Nursing Home, the Batesville Preservation Association, the Batesville Historic District Commission, and numerous church committees. Because of his involvement in the community, the local Kiwanis Club has named him Batesville Citizen of the Year, and Arkansas Parents for Inclusive Communities has named him Parent of the Year. He and his wife Diane have jointly won the Independence County Heritage Award. He and Diane are the parents of two sons and a daughter.