We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Mortar Board virtually initiates 39 new members

Lyon College’s Order of the Tartan Mortar Board chapter virtually inducted 39 new members for the 2020-21 school year on April 23.

"Congratulations to new members,” said chapter advisor Dr. Irosha Nawarathne. “Be ready to continue the Mortar Board excellence! I appreciate all of our outstanding current members for their exceptional contributions and also congratulate the graduating members.”

Senior members recieved the following awards:

  1. Leadership Award - Outstanding leadership during college years – Kendra Kelley and Madison Grant
  2. Scholarship Award - Outstanding achievements in scholarship – Luke Shackelford and Linda Fowler
  3. Service Award - Outstanding service to the community during college years – Sean O'Leary and Ellie Embry
  4. Chapter Citizenship Award - Outstanding service to the Order of the Tartans Chapter of Mortar Board based on adviser's observations - Melanie Beehler, Daniel Armstrong, and Madison Grant
  5. Overall Excellence Award - Outstanding service to the Order of the Tartans Chapter of Mortar Board - Kendra Kelley and Linda Fowler

“It is disappointing that the graduating members had to miss the last bit of leadership opportunities they had on campus,” said Nawarathne. “However, they already went above and beyond contributing to the Lyon community through Mortar Board and in many other ways before our lives went virtual.”

Mortar Board is an honor society that recognizes seniors for achievement in scholarship, leadership, and service. Faculty and staff nominate students for membership. Lyon’s chapter focuses on service, holding several service projects every school year.

Students from Arkansas include:

Sydney Bates of Batesville

Daisy Connor of Bald Knob

Hayley Cormican of Batesville 

Sarah Daniel of Springdale

Maegan Dement  of Jacksonville

Sabrina Denmon of Mena

Taylor Fitterling of Pleasant Plains

Joshua Fletcher of Jonesboro

Ignacio Gomez of Batesville

Leah Hanson of Little Rock

Addison Harmon of Greenbrier

Michael Humphrey of Cave City

Katherine Jeane of Greenbrier

Michael Jorgensen of Manila

Kelsey Lorch of Batesville

Thomas Maloney of Jonesboro 

Tea Mason of Newark

Laura Mendez of Little Rock

Taja McKesson of Fort Smith

Amber McMillan of Crossett

Hattie Milligan of Lake City

Adrienne Moran of Hickory Ridge

Lillian Osier of Vilonia

Katelyn Platt of Tuckerman

John Poe of Lake City

Victoria Prater-Rochier of Lowell

Kyle Rose of Mountain Home

Claire Sandy of Batesville 

Kiara Sims of Rogers

Jake Smith of Jonesboro

Madison VanGinhoven of Mammoth Springs

Jordan Webb of Mount Pleasant

Jordan Young  of West Memphis 

Out-of-state inductees include:

Kendra Davidson of West Plains, Mo.

Raul Gonzalez of The Colony, Texas

Jacob Heinrich of Frisco, Texas

Faris Verlasevic of Birmingham, Ala. 

Hannah Zang of McKinney, Texas

International inductees include:

Marcos Fernandez de Oliveira of Buenos Aires, Argentina