We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon to hold spring commencement ceremony


Lyon College will confer 116 degrees to the 2017 graduating class at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 6, in Becknell Gymnasium.

This year's ceremony will celebrate not only the Class of 2017 but also Donald Weatherman, the 17thpresident of Lyon College, and his accomplishments as president and former faculty member. It will also welcome Joey King as the College's 18th president.

Keynote speakers will include Cody Duvall, senior class president; Megan Parks, student government association president; and Lynn Weatherman. Weatherman will present on behalf of her husband, who is currently on medical leave. 

Interim President Raymond LaCroix Jr. and Provost Phillip Cavalier will present Gary V. Anderson with the Lyon College Friend of Education Award, and Perry Wilson, chairman of the Lyon College Board of Trustees, will announce the recipient of the Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence.

Cavalier will also present eight special honors to members of the graduating class, including the Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal. The Coffin medal is the highest award conferred upon a Lyon College student.

The commencement ceremony is open to the public and will be available via livestream.

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at 3:17 PM