We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon initiates 24 freshmen into honor society

Lyon College inducted 24 freshmen into the Lambda Delta honor society during a ceremony on Thursday, March 30, in the Bevens Music Room.

This year’s ceremony included remarks from Matthew Kirkpatrick, ’19, vice president of Lambda Delta; Keeley Anne Wooten, ’17; Phillip Cavalier, provost; John Herda, faculty co-advisor of Lambda Delta; Ridge Hester, ’19, outgoing Lambda Delta president; and Terrell Tebbetts, Martha Heasley Cox chair in American Literature.

Zoya Miller, ’20, along with fellow inductees Natalie Milligan, ’20, and Ali Blaine Tucker, ’20, also recognized Wesley Beal for his service to Lambda Delta. The College recently promoted Beal to associate professor of English and awarded him academic tenure.

Lambda Delta was established in 2011 to honor excellence in a student’s freshman year. In 2012, the Lyon chapter chartered with the national freshman honor society, Alpha Lambda Delta. The society recognizes early academic achievement and identifies academic leaders to provide service to the College.

Each member must be a first-time, full-time freshman student with a GPA of 3.5 and a ranking in the upper 20 percent of his or her class in the fall semester. 

The following students were the 2016-17 inductees:

Daniel Armstrong
Breeaan Bowman
Brittaney Bruce
Madison Cozort
Elissa Douglass
Mae Dyer
Ellie Embry
Rebecca Farhat
Linda Fowler
Roger Gasmann
Felicia Horn
Jared Jones
Lauren Kuykendall
Olivia Lynch
Braden Mead
Gracen Ratliff
Haley Reed
Tyler Sellers
Luke Shackelford
Vinston Van
Maya White
Kayli Womack

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at 2:00 PM