We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon confers 116 degrees, recognizes Anderson for support

Lyon College conferred 116 degrees to the 2017 graduating class on Saturday, May 9, in Becknell Gymnasium.

This year's ceremony celebrated not only the Class of 2017 but also Donald Weatherman, the 17th president of Lyon College, and his accomplishments as president and former faculty member. Weatherman will officially retire June 30. It also welcomed Joey King as the College's 18th president.

Keynote speakers included Cody Duvall, senior class president; Megan Parks, student government association president; and Lynn Weatherman. Weatherman presented on behalf of her husband, who is currently on medical leave. 

Perry Wilson, chairman of the Lyon College Board of Trustees, announced Bradley Gitz, the William Jefferson Clinton professor of international politics, as the recipient of the Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence. The Board of Trustees established the Williamson Prize in 1979 in memory of Lamar Williamson. A memorial fund established by the late J. Gaston Williamson supports the silver cup and stipend awarded to the Williamson Prize recipient.

Interim President Raymond LaCroix Jr. presented Gary V. Anderson, ’69, with the Friend of Education Award for his generous support of the College. Anderson has served the Cushman and Batesville school districts for 26 years as superintendent, teacher, coach and principal.

Eight graduates also received special honors and awards during the ceremony:

Emma Jackson, the Alma Cole Metcalf Endowed Scholarship Award
Jordan Braswell, the John T. and Diana March Dahlquist Scholar Athlete Award
Keeley Wooten, the Dr. Margaret Pruden Lester Fellowship
Joseph Burt, the Daniel Seibert Fellowship
Emily Riley, the Dr. Samuel W. Williams Fellowship
Jessica Craven, the Dr. Ellis G. and Mary Newton Mosley Fellowship
Samuel Brineman, the Dr. and Mrs. John D. Spragins Award
Hope Woods, the Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal

The following students were candidates for the Bachelor of Arts degree:

Damon Allen Akin, cum laude
Ashdon Kristal Allen
Angelica Joyce Alvarado, cum laude
Caroline R. Baber, cum laude
Elias Baer
Logan Bailey
Alisha Black
Paige V. Bork
Michael Dion Bowles
Jordan Braswell, summa cum laude
Homer Edward Brooks IV
Olivia Tess Brown
Kyra Kay Bussen
Drew Christian, summa cum laude
Nathaniel Covey
Jessica K. Craven, summa cum laude
Megan Kathleen Crook
Christopher J. Duft, magna cum laude
Matthew Cody Duvall
Summer Marie Ferguson
Keegan Floyd
Kier Malik Garner
Kelsi May Garrett, cum laude
Micah Lynn Graves, summa cum laude
Madisen Alexandra Green
Morgan Gurke, magna cum laude
Hannah Lee Hairston
Hailey Breanne Hastings
David Horne
Tyler Neil Houston
Haley Anne Huffstuttler
Emma Jackson
Chaney Leigh James
Dalton James
Austin J. Johnson
Ashley Nicole Joy
Nicholas Damian Juncos
Jonathan Coles Kindrex
Courtney Estelle Kirk
Lucian Jack Lovell, Jr.
Matthew Booker Mason Lytle
Allyson D. Miller
Madolyn Ann Miller
Melinda Jane Miller
Cody Moreland
James David Morrison III      
Madison Oden
Alexa Nell Overton
Cole Ryan Ragsdale
Alexandria R. Reyes
Emily Riley, summa cum laude
Kellee Robinson
Jordy Rubio-Leal       
Samantha Scalf
Phoenix Sheppard
Jarrod Alexander Smiatek
Kelsey Ann Smith
Dakota Micheal Suttles
John T. Swindle
Kory Alan Thatch
Rachael Annette Thomas
Tiffany Jean Tilley
Travis Ross Tinkle, cum laude
Jessica Lauren Utley
Alexandra Vlassova-Kudrevatykh
Carolyn Ward, cum laude                  
Kristen Nicole Millner Ward
Ashten Welch
Brock Widders
Katie Marie Wilson
Nathaniel Lloyd Wilson
Hope Woods, summa cum laude       
Keeley Wooten, summa cum laude
Patrick Erik Yarberry
Devyn Ashley Young

The following students were candidates for the Bachelor of Science degree:

Lucas Benjamin Alvarez Alfonso
Brenda M. Balderas-Gonzalez
Abby Nicole Beck, cum laude
William Sexton Beebe
Noah Samuel Brawley
Samuel Bullock Brineman, summa cum laude
Joseph Storm Burt, magna cum laude
Rayven Alexis Cannon
Geoffrey Carter
Lindsey Michelle Carter
Ryan Joseph Cortez
Zachary Van Austin Doyle, magna cum laude
Katarina Frickleton, cum laude
Johnna Marie Gamble
Alexandria Simoné Gillins     
Kaci Lynn Hall
Mary Lynn Heffington
Shawn Howell
Jacob Andrew Huffman
Justin Kyle Hunter, cum laude
Mackenzie Jones, cum laude
Stephanie Kay Jones. cum laude
Hana M. Kenny
William Lindsey
Winona Jean McCaulley
Connor Thomas McNab
Katherine Nicole McSpadden , cum laude
Troy Allen Mercer
Logan Michael Todd Miller
Megan Grace Parks, magna cum laude
Ty David Roder
Jami Grace Schmidt, magna cum laude
Shawna LaRaye Smith           
Matthew Hunter South
Laura Spell
William Masataka Staton
Michael Gareth Stout
Isabel Suarez
Elliot Britten Taylor, cum laude
Kathryn Victoria Jo Waugh
Katherine Wilbourne

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at 11:30 AM