We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon College confers 19 degrees to the inaugural fall graduating Class of 2023

Lyon College conferred 19 degrees to its inaugural fall graduating class.

Keynote speaker Dr. Joseph Smotherman, White River Health Executive Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer and alumnus of the Arkansas College class of 1993, offered encouragement and principles to the graduating class. 

Smotherman said, “You adapted to the rigors of a challenging academic environment. Eventually you selected a field of study. You overcame exams, papers, and projects. That is no small feat here.”

He continued, “Well done graduates. Congratulations to you on your accomplishments along the way and achieving your goal of becoming a graduate of Lyon College.” 

Senior Class President Alyssa Buentello shared reflections from the senior class, highlighting that “even in a year that Lyon College celebrated its 150th anniversary, it’s remarkable that we are still celebrated first.”

“From the moment you stepped foot on Lyon College’s campus, until now at your graduation, you have made a lasting impact,” said Buentello.

She continued, “Whatever form your support system comes across during your time here, just know that they do not disappear after you walk across this stage. As you gather here today, about to leave this magical school, you will discover that Lyon will always have a place in your heart. Whether you started four years ago, or transferred in, you have left your mark.”

Lyon College President Dr. Melissa P. Taverner announced Dr. Brooks Blevins, ‘92, Noel Boyd Professor of Ozark Studies in the history department at Missouri State University, as the recipient of Lyon College’s Friend of Education Award. The award is presented each year to honor an individual who has made an important contribution to the cause of education in the Batesville area.

The following graduates were awarded Bachelor of Arts degrees:

  • Jordon Iris Flagg

  • Trevor Matthew Freemire

  • Brittany Allison Heigle-Rogers

  • Fortunato Jose Hernandez Ferrer

  • Alexander William Holzwarth

  • Kobe Josiah Knights

  • Matiás Iván López Huencho

  • Nicholas Malik Izon McDonald

  • Warren Christopher Simpson

  • Brandon Williams

  • Jordan Anne Young


The following graduates were awarded Bachelor of Science degrees:

  • Kenneth L. Couch

  • Chesnee Faith Ellifrits

  • Kimberly Jade Fretwell

  • Mauro Garretano

  • Jevanni Hinkson

  • Jonathan Iliya

  • Leronardo Santos Galdino

  • Kate Elizabeth Whitenton


The full photo album can be found by clicking on the photo below!