We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon College confers 127 degrees to class of 2019

Lyon College conferred 127 degrees to the 2019 graduating class on Saturday, May 11, in its 147th commencement ceremony.

Keynote speaker Dr. Thomas A. Furness, III, professor of industrial and systems engineering at the University of Washington in Seattle, shared on his experiences as a virtual reality pioneer and military scientist. He originally wanted to be an astronaut, but his life went in another direction that he says unfolded in ways even more favorable than he imagined.

“I pray that your journey into the heavens as you blast off will be thrilling, full of wonder and memories and that you have some good favors in your life that help you go in other directions you may think that will be better than the ones you necessarily planned on,” Furness said.

“Think about what lies ahead,” he said. “Yes, you’ll be leaving here, but you really never will leave here because you’ll be accumulating more and more of these memories as far as you go.”

Additional speakers included Taylor Donnerson, student government association president and Samantha Sharp, senior class president.

Perry Wilson, chairman of the Lyon College Board of Trustees, announced Dr. Wesley Beal, associate professor of English, as the recipient of the Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence. The Board of Trustees established the Williamson Prize in 1979 in memory of Lamar Williamson. A memorial fund established by the late J. Gaston Williamson supports the silver cup and stipend awarded to the Williamson Prize recipient.

Dr. David Hutchison, vice president of advancement, also welcomed the graduates into the alumni community.

“We have made an investment in you to go and make a difference in the world, and I challenge you to stay invested in this place,” he said.

Eight graduates also received special honors and awards during the ceremony:

Shanae Snow, Alma Cole Metcalf Endowed Scholarship Award

Ali Tucker, John T. and Diana March Dahlquist Scholar Athlete Award

Jaylin Finley, Dr. Margaret Pruden Lester Fellowship

Savannah Youngblood, Daniel Seibert Fellowship

Cassidy Mitchell, Dr. Samuel W. Williams Fellowship

Victoria Hutcheson, Dr. Ellis E. and Mary Newton Mosley Fellowship

Natalie Milligan, Dr. and Mrs. John D. Spragins Memorial Award

Jordan Trant, Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal

The following students were candidates for the Bachelor of Arts degree:

Kelsey Dawn Adams, cum laude

William Cade Almond

Morgan Anderson

Madison Lee Bangert

Kendra L Bell

Joshua Adam Burcham, cum laude

Skyler Burke

Elizabeth Jean Caplinger

Chase M. Chalk, cum laude

Tacker J.R. Colbert

Nichole Shingleur Cook, magna cum laude

Cedric O'neal Cooney Jr.

Caden Wayd Copeland

William Aaron Crawford

James Robert Davis

Joyce De Freitas Barbosa

Taylor Adline Donnerson

Lindsey Powell-Downs

Peyton Duffield

Emily Shay Dyer

Jaylin Layne Finley, summa cum laude

Debra K. Fletcher, summa cum laude

Jake Erin Fox

Samantha Marie French

Alexandria Fuchsberger

Allison Faith Garrett

Raymond James Gill

Charlie Marie Gills

Dalis Gott

Garrison Chase Gravett

Kaitlyn Guevara

Laramie Chase Hall

Anna Elizabeth Haney, magna cum laude

Brooks Logan Harral

Tanner O. Harris, magna cum laude

Alyssa Morgun Henson

Ridge D. Hester

Isaiah Holyfield

Victoria Lynn Hutcheson, magna cum laude

Jessica Ann Ivy

Robert Turner Kennedy

Donald Elijah Keys

Matthew Cleveland Kirkpatrick, cum laude

David Joseph Knight, cum laude

Ryan Michael Lewis

Zachary Lilly

Royce Valentine LoBianco

Sarah McKnight

Caily Rianne Marie Mendez

Cannon Meurer

Zoya Miller, magna cum laude

Dustin Miller

Cassidy Ann Mitchell, magna cum laude

Nofel Naoman

Rachel Lin Norman

Kacy Jane Perkins

Jennifer Hidy-Pitts, magna cum laude

José Tomás Poblete Romero

Hannah M. Qualls

Cody Richardson

Lucas H. Ried

Christopher Robinson

Courtney Rollans

Alex Rubio Leal

Emir Sabic

Roxanne Scott, cum laude

Joshua Settimio, cum laude

Samantha Ann Sharp, cum laude

Madison Taylor Smith

Hannah Smithee, magna cum laude

ShaNae B. Snow, cum laude

Toby Layne Stipp

McKinley Streett

Randi Thompson, cum laude

Petelo Tuipulotu

Abbigale E. Vanaman

William Tyler Vanlandingham

Braylon Wehrmann, cum laude

Michaela Joyce West, cum laude

Kyle J West

Amanda Jewel Weston

Madisson M. Williams

Kenneth Andres Wilson

Olivia Marie Wolfram

Savannah Youngblood, summa cum laude

The following students were candidates for the Bachelor of Science degree:

Madelyn Nicole Anderson

Devon Reeves Austin, magna cum laude

Stephen James Benedik, cum laude

Alice Faye Bewley, magna cum laude

Justin Lee Bird

Christian Cain, cum laude

Joshua Blake Caldwell

Mitchell Cannon

Joel Riley Caraway, cum laude

Karina Chavez

Garett Stevens Denton

Daniel Isaiah Dunham

Omar Fabila Nieto

Jonathan Followell, summa cum laude

Amanda Marie Ford, cum laude

Joshua Ryan Green

Keifer Erich Hartwig, magna cum laude

Trenston Hawkins

Derek Hendricks

Alec Sean Hester, summa cum laude

Andrew Doyan Hyde

Antanas Krimelis, cum laude

Tressa Lee Linson, cum laude

Leiliani Naivi Lopez

Joseph Toetuuolamou'i Mahe

Mekhi David Malvo-McFall

Andrew William Maxwell

Braden Mead

Ignacio Andrés Milla Munez

Natalie Tate Milligan, summa cum laude

Eric Ekene Moses

Jacqueline Rebecca Neal

Emily Joyce Oldman

Brandon Tyler Olsen

Tanner James Seibel

Zachary N. L. Stewart

Hannah Faith Stucky

Taylor Thibeau

Clark Wesley Thornton

Jordan Trant, summa cum laude

Ali Blaine Tucker, summa cum laude

Nicholas C. Vasquez, magna cum laude