We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon celebrates students’ perseverance at first virtual honors convocation

Lyon College celebrated the achievements of the class of 2020 at the first-ever virtual honors convocation on April 21. Senior class president Felicia Horn reflected on the unique journey she and her classmates have taken the past four years.

When she first walked onto campus, she wondered if Lyon had been the right choice.

“Now I’m happy to say I made it. We made it. Although we may have failed or felt lost during our time here, we have achieved miraculous things.”

Horn said the seniors even adjusted to online learning and accepted the end of their last year arriving early.

“We have become our best selves… so far at least,” she said. “I have witnessed the tenacity, kindness, and brilliance of my peers. Be proud of how far we’ve come, class of 2020, and be excited for the adventures that wait!”

Provost Dr. Melissa Taverner acknowledged how strange coming together virtually for the honors convocation while remaining separate during the COVID-19 crisis was for the Lyon community.

“The work we do together is important and we honor it every day,” Taverner said, “but today’s larger issue of protecting and supporting each other and our communities so we can continue our work in the future absolutely reflects the core values of this institution.” 

“Wherever and whenever we are, we are all still Lyon Scots.”

She said the success of Lyon students reflects the strength of both the local and extended communities.

“As our students often attest, their accomplishments are hard won,” Taverner said, “and are realized because of the support of many different persons: faculty, staff, family, mentors, and friends.”

Over 90 awards were given to students and campus organizations, as follows:


Math and Science

Biology Book Award

Luke Shackelford

Schram Emerging Biologist Award

Allison Mundy

Chemistry Book Award

Linda Fowler

American Institute of Chemists Award

Daniel Armstrong

American Chemical Society Organic Chemistry Award

Michael Jorgensen

Hattie Milligan

James Alexander Shanks Chemistry Award

Michael Humphrey

Freshman Chemistry Award

Devin Lipford

Computer Science Book Award

Jared Jones

Perkins Male Calculus Award

Benji Norton

George Maxfield Evans Award

Nikkolette Perkins

Mathematics Book Award

Sam Wirges

Joanne Le

Physics Book Award

Kayla DeMay

Jacob Heinrich



English Book Award

Olivia Lynch

Sigma Tau Delta Senior Writing Award

Lauryn Bocox

Abbie Snapp Arnold English Award

Haley Reed

Charles R. Oliver Memorial Scholarship Award

Mae Dyer

French Book Award

Andrea (Lauren) Kuykendall

Journalism Book Award

Billy Stidham

Bart Lewis Scholarship Award

Ignacio Gomez

History Book Award

Roger Gasmann

Saltire Award

Virginia Mohlke Schroeder

Religion & Philosophy Book Award

Cade Archer

Nicholas Hall

Roberta Thomas Dorr Brown Scholarship

Sydney Bates


Fine Arts

Music Book Award

David Lewis

Perkins Saxophone Award

Faith Hargis

Art Book Award

Felicia Horn

Theatre Book Award

Navy Griffin


Social Science

Political Science Book Award

Kristyn Skelton

Business Administration Book Award

Dawson Angeles

Finance Book Award

Marcos Fernandez de Oliveira

Management Book Award

Madison Riley

Economics Book Award

Elena Cervantes

Clarence Adams Award

Klaudija Bacovic

Anthropology Book Award

Trinity Ingram

Psychology Book Award

Lindsay Moore

Rachel Stevens Memorial Psychology Award

Allison (Claire) Shirley

Elementary Education Book Award

Elizabeth Henderson

Secondary Education Book Award

Michayla Shanks

Physical Education Book Award

Kyle West


Campus Ministry

Celtic Cross Award

Emma Gillaspy

Taylor Williams

Long Bible Award

Cade Archer


Student Life

Outstanding Leader

Elissa Douglass

Ayden Henry

Emerging Leader

Alexandria Harris

Program of the Year

Hispanic Student Association’s “Lyon Fiesta”

Organization of the Year

Mortar Board

Hall of Leaders

Jose Balderas Jr.

Melanie Beehler

Hayley Cormican

Kayla DeMay

Taylor Fitterling

Emma Gillaspy

Kendra Kelley

Laura Mendez

Iva Popavic

Luke Shackelford

Michayla Shanks

Timothy Tignor

Kristen Towery

Hannah Zang

Outstanding Student Athlete

Elly Embry

Above and Beyond

Daniel Armstrong

Elena Cervantes

Liz Daniel

Linda Fowler

Raul Gonzalez

Madison Grant

Abigail Grimes

Katherine Jeane

Dimir Leftwich

Olivia Lynch

Carson Matthews

Geneva McCaulley

Hattie Milligan

Balah Muhammad

Long Nguyen

Sean O’Leary

Zach Poe

John Pruden

Ashtyn Stevens

Tionne Stubblefield

Taylor Williams

Kayli Womack

KILT’s Best Radio Program

Trash and Treasure (Odie Cauthon and Trey Lemmel)

Lyon Education and Adventure Program (LEAP)

Outstanding Student Leader: Shelby Medlock

Rookie of the Year: Sarah Darnell

Dennis Wright Leadership Award: Iva Popovic

Arkansas Coalition for Peace and Justice Sophia Prize

Jose Balderas Jr.

Presbyterian Student Association

Student Government Association Leadership Awards

Student Leader: Linda Fowler, Raul Gonzales, Taylor Fitterling

Student Athlete: Elly Embry and Elena Cervantes

Greek Life: Cade Archer and Abigail Grimes

Fine Arts: Daria Giles and Benji Norton

Alpha Chi Professor of the Year

Dr. Alexander Beeser

MAC Employee of the Year

Kendra Kelley

Libris Award

Eleodoro Martinez

Spotlight Award

Lyon College community for its response to the COVID-19 Crisis

CORRECTION: The honors convocation video incorrectly listed the current Mortar Board members. Below is the current roster.


Daniel Armstrong

Melanie Beehler 

Jordan Dabdub 

Kayla DeMay 

Linda Fowler 

Madison Grant 

Navy Griffin            

Ayden Henry                    

Felicia Horn                    

Raleigh Jeffery                    

Christen Johnson                

Kendra Kelley                    

Lauren Kuykendall                

David Lewis                    

Olivia Lynch                    

Allison Mundy                    

Destiny Nunez                    

Sean O’Leary                    

Iva Popovic                    

John Pruden                    

Gracen Ratliff                    

Haley Reed                    

Luke Shackelford                

Emerson Smith                    

Tionne Stubblefield                 

Savannah Stull                    

Kristen Towery                    

Vinston Van                    

Zachary Ward                    

Samuel Wirges