We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Lyon Board of Trustees holds fall meeting

The Lyon College Board of Trustees held its fall meeting on Friday, October 23. Members heard committee reports and reviewed and approved new policies.

The board also granted sabbaticals to Dustyn Bork, associate professor of art, and Russell Stinson, the Josephine E. Brown professor of music, both of whom will spend a semester of the next academic year conducting research related to their fields. Bork will work on several large art pieces that he plans to exhibit after the sabbatical, while Stinson will begin writing a new book regarding the reception of Bach’s work by nineteenth- and early-twentieth century composers.

In addition, the group unanimously approved the awarding of honorary Doctors of Humane Letters (D.H.L.) degrees to former trustees Charles B. Whiteside III and J. D. Simpson III, both of Little Rock. The D.H.L. is an academic degree conferred on those who have contributed significantly to the humanities or society.

The board honored David Thomas by naming him the Willie Dillard Bryan Endowed Professor of Biology. Thomas joined the Lyon faculty in 1999 and is an active member of the Lyon and Batesville communities.

New members joining Lyon's Board of Trustees include John Beller of Cave City, CEO of the Bank of Cave City; Cheryl Bryant of Glastonbury, Conn., Director of Pharmacy and Retail Operations at Walgreen Co.; Dale Cole of Batesville, CEO of First Community Bank; Sarah Cullen of Maumelle, an attorney in Little Rock; Gretchen Hall of Little Rock, President and CEO of the Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau; and Joseph Rugger of Bentonville, a retired entrepreneur. Also attending his first board meeting was Jason Lochmann, 2016 graduate and Young Alumni Trustee. Bryant, Cullen, Hall and Rugger are likewise graduates of the College. The board also nominated and elected the Reverend Bill Branch to serve as a new Clergy Trustee.

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at 2:30 PM