We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


Hayley Cormican elected Lyon SGA president, has big plans for Lyon and Batesville community

Lyon College’s Student Government Association (SGA) announced sophomore Hayley Cormican has been elected its president for the upcoming 2019-20 academic year. Cormican said she already has plans for her presidency.

“I really hope to integrate the Lyon community with the Batesville community in such a way that will foster good community relations and broaden opportunities for Lyon College students,” she said.

Cormican wants to invite community speakers to campus and initiate co-sponsored events with Lyon and Batesville community members. She said there is an idea for a SGA-sponsored disc golf tournament with more details to come.

“I grew up in Batesville and have called it home for so long; there are so many opportunities in the community for students that I can’t wait to make available to them,” she said.

Cormican is an art major with plans to teach art and coach after graduation, which she said is part of the reason she wanted to run for president.

“I know that art is a somewhat unconventional major for someone to run for SGA president, but I believe teachers and coaches really do shape young people into who they will be someday, which is why I think people going into that profession should have an extensive leadership background,” she said.

“I decided to run for president because I really do care about Lyon College and all of its students, faculty and staff. I hope to create a positive and embracing face for SGA and make it a more personable organization.”

Cormican is “excited” for her presidency and the opportunity to serve her community.

“I am so thankful to attend a school where I can tell each person I come in contact with truly has my best interest in mind,” she said. “It’s so inspiring to have a college family that can’t wait to see me succeed.”

Melanie Beehler was elected SGA vice president, Taylor Fitterling was elected treasurer and Kristen Towery was elected secretary.