Alumnus receives chemistry education award

Congratulations to alumnus Jacob Teeter, '14, who has received the Citation for Excellence in Teaching Chemistry award from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where he works as a graduate assistant. Read the full story here!

Taking the LEAP with WT

A prime example of Lyon’s unique campus experiences, the Lyon Education and Adventure Program (LEAP) welcomes new leadership for a new year.

INBRE grant and awards lead to important addition to chemistry lab

Four Lyon students and two faculty members have received awards from the IDeA Network for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) for their research efforts and work in various aspects of Lyon’s science programs.


Lyon College Closed Today

Due to inclement winter weather, the Lyon College campus will be closed today.

Lyon celebrates MLK Day with first annual Unity Circle

On Monday, January 18, a group of students, faculty, and staff braved the cold winter air to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., with the first annual Lyon Unity Circle. Even though a power outage delayed the ceremony until the afternoon, over 70 participants still attended, held hands, and stretched the circle to its fullest extent, symbolizing the breadth of Dr. King’s dream and the hope for a fully unified world. Dr. Philip Acree Cavalier, Dean of Faculty, spoke about Dr. King’s dedication to his life mission, even when his own family was threatened. Rev.

Restoring Memories: Renovating a campus icon

Brown Chapel is the symbol of the Lyon College campus, an iconic structure resonating with scores of Arkansas College and Lyon College alumni alike.

Psychology professor awarded for work with freshmen

Congratulations to Dr. Jenn Daniels, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Co-Director of the YearOne freshman orientation program! The National Resource Center and Cengage Learning have chosen her as one of 10 Outstanding First-Year Student Advocates for her work with Lyon freshmen and her positive impact on the College. She will attend an awards reception at this year's Annual Conference on the First-Year Experience held in Orlando.

Four Lyon students make intercollegiate band

Congratulations to Dalton James, Morgan Webb, Hannah Smithee, and Emily Oldman (pictured) for being the FIRST Lyon students to earn positions on the Arkansas Intercollegiate Honor Band! These students will perform with other outstanding band students from Arkansas colleges and universities at the Arkansas Music Educators' Conference in February, which will be held at the Hot Springs Convention Center. We are proud of you, and we know you will represent Lyon College well! 

Students give back for the holidays

In the midst of final exams, holiday break preparations, and the rush to finish holiday shopping lists, several Lyon College students have dedicated time for serving others this month. Chemistry students of Dr. Irosha Nawarathne and Lyon’s chapter of Circle K International have reached out to the community to help children in need of extra holiday cheer.


Dean of Faculty receives Swarthmore distinction

Dr. Philip Acree Cavalier, Vice President for Academic Services and Dean of the Faculty at Lyon College, was named a “Distinguished Academic” by his alma mater, Swarthmore College.