House System
Lyon College

We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon
House System

The house system is modeled after the British collegiate house system, and strives to integrate the academic and residential programs of the college for the benefit of all students.

Within each house is a suite for the Resident Faculty Mentor (RFM), who is a current, college faculty or staff member. The RFM guides the residents in programs for the benefit of the entire house.

Spragins House (1st year students)

The Spragins House is home to first year students at Lyon College. Located on the Morrow Quad, Spragins House is centrally located near the Mabee-Simpson Library, academic buildings, and Edwards Commons, the student union. Spragins House includes Blandford, Bryan, Love, and Spragins residence halls as well as the RFM's home. The Morrow Building is also located on the quad, and houses the Supplemental Instruction offices.

Young House (Upperclass students)

The Young House is home to both first year and upperclass students at Lyon College. Young House includes Hoke/McCain, McRae, and Wilson & Rogers residence halls. Young House, dedicated in 1993, was the first house in the College's House system, named in honor of Robert A. Young, III.

Robert Young III, a nationally recognized Fort Smith businessman has shown his commitment to Lyon College through his service on the Board of Trustees since 1973, and as chairman from 1987-2003. Mrs. Young's family is honored in McRae Hall. The crest at the entrance to Hoke/McCain Hall is the Young family coat of arms.

Programmatic opportunities similar to Spragins House are provided to both first year and upperclass students through Young House.