We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon


View Commencement Week Photos



Lyon College confers 146 degrees to class of 2021


Lyon College conferred 146 degrees to the 2021 graduating class on Saturday, May 22.

Keynote speaker Dr. Megan Holifield, ’13, pharmacist at Econo-Mart in Batesville, discussed how much the graduates have overcome in the past year and the mix of feelings they must be experiencing as they prepared to depart Lyon.

She reminded them that their connection to Lyon doesn’t end at graduation.

“When graduation came around, I was incredibly sad to lose everything I had here,” Holifield said. “Everything I was so devastated to lose, I actually took with me.”

Although graduates will enter a very different world from the one they knew when they entered college, she said, they also have the opportunity to rebuild and make the world a better place.

“Leave the sadness and uncertainty behind. Take the memories and friendships with you,” Holifield said.

She concluded, “And be confident in yourself, because you have all the tools you need. Go into this world knowing that you can and will make it better.”

Hayley Cormican, ’21, the senior class president, reflected on how so many graduates found their safe haven at Lyon.

“They have met their best friends, fiercest advocates, the loves of their lives and people who have shown them what overwhelming joy is supposed to feel like,” she said.

Cormican concluded, “I’m proud of how our community has bonded through such an overwhelmingly difficult past year, and I wish each of you the absolute best.”

Perry Wilson, chairman of the Lyon College Board of Trustees, announced Professor of Art Dustyn Bork as the recipient of the Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence. The Board of Trustees established the Williamson Prize in 1979 in memory of Lamar Williamson. A memorial fund established by the late J. Gaston Williamson supports the silver cup and stipend awarded to the Williamson Prize recipient.


Eight graduates also received special honors and awards during the ceremony:

  • Michael Humphrey- Alma Cole Metcalf Endowed Scholarship Award
  • Kendra Davidson- The Dahlquist Scholar Athlete Award
  • Sabrina Denmon- The Lester Award
  • Katelyn Platt- The Seibert Fellowship
  • Adrienne Moran- The Dr. Samuel W. Williams Fellowship
  • Kristen Towery- The Mosley Fellowship
  • Hannah Zang- The Dr. and Mrs. John D. Spragins Memorial Award
  • Zachary Ward- The Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal

See the full list of graduates here.


Recordings and Photo albums

baccalaureate service



Commencement ceremony



honors convocation

Photo Album

Senior dinner

Photo Album


Senior BBQ

Photo Album