We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon




Lyon College conferred 148 degrees on the 2018 graduating class at the 146th commencement ceremony Saturday, May 12, in its Becknell Gymnasium.

Keynote speakers included Ms. Amanda Long, Senior Class President, and Mrs. Katia Beauchamp, co-founder and CEO of Birchbox, a subscription service for beauty products.  Beauchamp emphasized to the graduates the importance of resilience for success, encouraging them to move past initial failures without becoming too disheartened.

Mr. Matthew Matheny, Alumni Council President, issued a challenge to the graduates to remain actively engaged with their alma mater by attending College events, staying in contact, and donating time, money, and energy.

Perry Wilson, Chairman of the Lyon College Board of Trustees, announced Dr. Nikki Yonts, Assistant Professor of Psychology, as the recipient of the Lamar Williamson Prize for Faculty Excellence. The Board of Trustees established the Williamson Prize in 1979 in memory of Lamar Williamson. A memorial fund established by the late J. Gaston Williamson support a silver cup and stipend. Wilson and Dr. King presented the trophy, a citation, and the cash award to Dr. Yonts.

The following eight graduates also received special honors and awards during the ceremony: Ashley Green, The Alma Cole Metcalf Endowed Scholarship Award; Nicole Sanders, The John T. and Diana March Dahlquist Scholar-Athlete Award; Jared Self, The Dr. Margaret Pruden Lester Fellowship; Amelia Gayle, The Daniel Seibert Fellowship, Michael Hunter, The Dr. Samuel W. Williams Fellowship; Allison Green, The Dr. Ellis G. and Mary Newton Mosley Fellowship; Morgan Webb, The Dr. and Mrs. John D. Spragins Award; and Hannah Templin, Charles H. Coffin Scholarship Medal. View the list of graduates and the full press release here