Campus Ministry | Lyon College
Lyon College

We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon

Campus Ministry

Campus Ministry

Lyon College’s Campus Ministry exists to embody Christian community, characterized by respect, diversity, and reconciliation, and where students, faculty, and staff may mature as individuals in a community.

Spiritual Programming

  • Weekly chapel services: Thursdays at 11:00 a.m. in the Small Chapel
  • Bible studies and small groups
  • Mission trips, far and near
  • Social events
  • Retreats
  • Opportunities to learn about other faiths and special topics
  • Special opportunities for worship and prayer


Religious/Spiritual Student Organizations

Interested in getting involved on campus? Here are our current religious student organizations at Lyon.
 

Baptist Collegiate Ministry 

The purpose of the Baptist Collegiate Ministry is to exalt God through growing in Christ, connecting to His Church, and serving His World. To learn more, contact Baptist Collegiate Ministry President Jared Self at jared.self@lyon.edu, Campus Minister Dawn Reed at dawn@fbcbatesville.org, or Chandley McCoy at chandler.mccoy@lyon.edu.

 
Fellowship of christian athletes (FCA)

The mission of the FCA present to coaches and athletes, and all whom they influence, the challenge and adventure of receiving Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, serving Him in their relationships and in the fellowship of the church.

We do this by presenting opportunities to fellowship with other students and athletes on campus. We meet once a week of some kind either by giving our own students a chance to speak and spread God's word or by having some type of activity where we get to know and love on others through fun and games.

FCA is based on 4 values:

  1. Integrity - We will demonstrate Christ-like wholeness, privately, and publicly (Proverbs 11:3).
  2. Serving - We will model Jesus' example of serving (John 13:1-17).
  3. Teamwork - We will express our unity in Christ in all our relationships (Philippians 2:1-4).
  4. Excellence - We will honor and glorify God in all we do (Colossians 3:23-24).

To learn more, contact our leadership team: Sam Burchfield, sam.burchfield@lyon.edu; Tressa Linson, tressa.linson@lyon.edu; Carson Grant, carson.grant@lyon.edu; Christian Cain, christian.cain@lyon.edu; Braylon Wehrmann, braylon.wehrmann@lyon.edu. FCA's advisor is Nick Palese, nick.palese@lyon.edu.

 
Wesley Fellowship

The Wesley Fellowship provides opportunities for students to meet together for prayer, study, fellowship, and service to the Lyon College community.

The Fellowship is particularly interested in serving students with a religious background in the Wesleyan heritage, e.g., United Methodism, but welcomes students, faculty, and staff of all backgrounds who share the interests and purpose of the Wesley Fellowship.

The Fellowship meets on Wednesdays at 6:00 p.m. over a meal and devotion. Locations vary, so look out for email updates, or contact the Wesley Fellowship President Emma Jackson at emma.jackson@lyon.edu, or Faculty Advisor Dr. Paul Bube, at paul.bube@lyon.edu

Lyon College Chaplain

Campus Ministry at Lyon College is led by chaplain Maggie Alsup. She is assisted by the Campus Ministry Leadership Council, a group of highly motivated student leaders who work to promote campus ministry at Lyon.