AR Professor of the Year

Lyon College has a good track record with the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). The organization has selected 14 Lyon faculty members as Arkansas Professors of the Year.

The U.S. Professors of the Year program salutes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country – those who excel as teachers and influence the lives and careers of their students. It is recognized as one of the most prestigious awards honoring professors.

Lyon’s record of 14 Professor of the Year Awards is unmatched by any other liberal arts college in the country.

Lyon’s Arkansas Professors of the Year include:

  • 2008 — Dr. Tim Lindblom, associate professor of biology
  • 2006 — Dr. Catherine Bordeau, associate professor of French
  • 2005 — Dr. Scott M. Roulier, associate professor of political science
  • 2004 — Dr. Mark D. Schram, associate professor of biology
  • 2003 — Dr. Robert G. Gregerson, the Bryan Associate Professor of Biology
  • 2001 — Dr. Helen W. Robbins, associate professor of English
  • 2000 — Dr. Gregerson (the state’s only two-time winner)
  • 1999 — Dr. David Stricklin, former associate professor of history
  • 1998 — Dr. James Rulla, former associate professor of mathematics
  • 1997 — Dr. Bart Lewis, the late Fulbright Professor of Modern Languages
  • 1994 — Dr. Scott Peterson, the former Bryan Professor of Biology
  • 1992 — Dr. Terrell L. Tebbetts, the Cox Chair of American Literature
  • 1991 — Dr. George E. Lankford, Professor Emeritus of Folklore
  • 1989 — Dr. Roberta Bustin, Professor Emerita of Chemistry