News from Lyon College | Colleges in Batesville, Arkansas
Lyon College

We can't wait to meet you

Schedule a visit Apply to Lyon

Ozark Folk Center gardener to present lecture in Nucor

Tina Marie Wilcox, herb and wild plant specialist, will present a lecture at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 20, in Nucor Auditorium.

The lecture, titled “Widow Wilcox of Rattlesnake Ridge, Yarb Tales from the Ozarks,” will include folk stories and songs tied to the history and lore of plants.

Wilcox has served as the head gardener and herbalist at the Ozark Folk Center's Heritage Herb Garden in Mountain View, Arkansas, since 1984.

The lecture is free and open to the public.

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at Wednesday, April 19, 2017 | 0 comments

Lyon College Harlequin Theatre to present 'Rabbit Hole'

The Lyon College Harlequin Theatre will present David Lindsay-Abaire’s 2007 Pulitzer Prize award-winning play, Rabbit Hole, directed by Dr. Fonzie Geary.

Centered on the tragic death of 4-year-old Danny, the son of Becca Corbett and Howie Corbett, Rabbit Hole tackles the tangled web of loss, love, and the colossal gamut of touchstones in between.

Karissa Harper, ’17, and Basil Gist, ’17, play Becca and Howie, the devastated parents whose dissimilar process of coping with grief put them at painful odds as they attempt to navigate through the ache of an empty home.  

Rounding out the supporting are Kendra Bell, ’19; Madison Oden, ’17; and Julian Francoeur, ’20. Bell plays Becca’s pregnant sister, Izzy, a woman at war with her own demons desperately attempting to forge a familial bond. Oden plays Becca and Izzy’s mother, a woman who has also felt the grief of burying a child. Francoeur plays Jason, the teenager involved in Danny’s death.

The show will run from April 20 to April 22 at 7:30 p.m. and on April 23 at 2 p.m. in the Holloway Theatre. Tickets are $5 for adults, $3 for senior citizens and non-Lyon students, and free for all those with a Lyon ID. Seating is limited.

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at Thursday, April 13, 2017 | 0 comments

Four Lyon students win awards at national Alpha Chi convention

Pictured seated, left to right, are Hannah Templin of Batesville; Hope Woods of Huntsville; Jordan Trant of McKinney, Texas; Marisa Ayers of Searcy; and Keeley Wooten of Calico Rock. Standing are former chapter sponsor Dr. Tim Lindblom and current sponsor Dr. Terrell Tebbetts.

Four Lyon College scholarship nominees won awards at the National Convention of Alpha Chi National Scholarship Honor Society on April 6-8 in Louisville, Kentucky.

Five student delegates presented scholarly papers on subjects that included biology, chemistry, American literature, British history and political science. 

Of the student scholarship nominees, all four won awards. Winners include the following students: Hannah Templin, '17, who took home Region II's Edwin H. Gaston Scholarship; Hope Woods, '17, who took home the National Council's H. Y. Benedict Fellowship; Marisa Ayers, '18, who took home the National Council's Afred H. Nolle Scholarship; and Keeley Wooten, '17, who was named alternate for Region II’s Joseph E. Pryor Fellowship. Together they collected $6,000 in scholarship and fellowship funds.

Lyon’s Alpha Chi chapter as a whole won distinction as a Star Chapter of Alpha Chi.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational academic honor society. Since 1922 its purpose has been to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at Wednesday, April 12, 2017 | 0 comments

CCSC Mid-South holds conference at Lyon

On Friday, March 31, and Saturday, April 1, the Consortium for Computing Sciences in Colleges Mid-South, in cooperation with ACM SIGCSE, held the 15th CCSC Mid-South conference on the Lyon College campus.

On Friday, 17 programming teams competed in the conference’s programming contest to solve seven problems in four hours. Participating teams included the Buccaneers from Christian Brothers University; Harding Black and Harding Gold from Harding University; Hendrix Black and Hendrix Orange from Hendrix College; Murray State 1, Murray State 2, and Murray State 3 from Murray State University; Southwest Baptist University and Southwest Baptist University Black from Southwest Baptist University; Sewanee Enigma and Sewanee Purple from Sewanee: the University of the South; UAFS Blue and UAFS White from the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith; UCA Golden Bears and UCA Purple Bears from the University of Central Arkansas; and U of M Team 1 from the University of Memphis.

First place went to students Allison Hawkins, Grant Jennings, and Stephen Leskowat from the Southwest Baptist University Purple team, who solved five problems in the allotted time. Second and third place went to Harding Black and UAFS White, who solved three problems respectively.   

On Friday afternoon, researchers, teachers, and students presented papers and tutorials related to the computer science field. These presentations and tutorials continued on Saturday morning.

On Friday night, participants enjoyed a banquet and an awards presentation. Keynote speaker Anthony Owen, Director of Computer Science at Arkansas State University, offered remarks on the conference. Owen earned his B.S. in mathematics with minors in education and computer science and his M.S.E. in educational leadership from Henderson State University. He also earned his J.D. from the UALR Bowen School of Law.

From 2011 to 2015, he served as ADE’s K-12 mathematics and computer science curriculum specialist. He currently leads the development and implementation of Governor Asa Hutchinson’s computer science initiative.

The CCSC Mid-South conference seeks to provide a forum for the exchange of information on computing and computing education. Every year, the conference steering committee invites submissions on innovative computing and computing education topics and applications of interest from college faculty, students, and staff and other interested professionals.

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at Tuesday, April 11, 2017 | 0 comments

Lyon inducts 15 into international psychology honor society

Lyon College inducted 15 new members into the Psi Chi honor society during a ceremony on Wednesday, March 29, in the Bevens Music Room in Brown Chapel.

Founded in 1929, Psi Chi is the international honor society for psychology. Its mission is to encourage excellence in student scholarship and advance the science of psychology.

Psi Chi boasts more than 700,000 lifetime members. Membership is open to both undergraduate and graduate students who are pursuing a major or minor in psychology and meet the minimum qualifications.

Each member of Psi Chi must have completed at least three semester or equivalent of full-time college coursework, completed at least nine semester credit hours or equivalent in psychology courses, have maintained a cumulative GPA that is in the top 35 percent of their class, and have a minimum 3.0 GPA in their psychology courses.

The following students were the 2016-17 inductees:

Caroline Baber

Bethany Butler

Katarina Frickleton

Allison Green

Toni Lack

Katherine McSpadden

Morgan Miller

Cassidy Mitchell

Jennifer Hidy Pitts

Asher Rodgers

Nicole Sanders

Hannah Smithee

Shanae Snow

Allison Tackett

Lindsay Truitt

Posted by Alexandra Patrono-Smith at Monday, April 10, 2017 | 0 comments